top of page

FOLLOW ME:

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

Getting Salty...

Hey Loves! Things seem to be getting springy around here! I have been super busy, but you better believe I have been getting into some new things! Now, if you know me you know how much I love sweets! I probably have one of the biggest sweet tooth’s and I am positive that one day it will come back to haunt me. Oh well… Let’s get down to the sweet stuff!

If you are feeling salty and could use an amazing sweet then The Salted Cupcake is your place to be with a down to earth staff and a subtle but in your face cupcake there is no losing with this place! This little hidden gem on 32nd street in Grand Rapids, MI is your one stop shop for creativity, challenge and of course fresh sweet batches of cupcakes!

I had the pleasure of stopping by and being greeted with open arms. When you first walk in it is hard to not notice the wall the cupcakes of the day are displayed on. These cupcakes are the flavors that are available for the day. What makes this shop unique is its kickass menu flavors and the fact that they invest in farm fresh eggs, bacon, dairy and flour to create their cupcakes. The point is to create a cupcake that is better for the community and your health! Of course all cupcakes that are purchased should be eaten the same day however, if you are trying to gift or share you might wanna store these bad boys at room temp so that the buttercream does not get hard! If you happen to buy a cupcake that contains cream then you should keep it refrigerated! Any flavor can be frozen up to one month and should be thawed at room temp for 3-4 hours before being served.

Let’s get to the good stuff my sweeties! So! I had the great honor of selecting my own two flavors to take home and try for the first time. You know I was beyond excited because I love meeting new people, I freaking love free stuff, I love sweets, and I love sharing the deets with you! I decided to go out of my comfort zone being this was my first time, SO the first flavor up on our review is the Coconut Cream Pie Cupcake.

First off, let’s talk about how pretty this cupcake is. I am not a huge fan of coconut however this cupcake is a really pretty cupcake and it looks very natural. It doesn’t look like someone just slapped the coconut on there (which would be a huge turn off) and it was not too much. So when I cut it open the first thing I noticed was the filling. Again, it was not too much and it even had a little coconut. I am so thankful that it wasn’t runny because I would have cried and died a little on the inside. The frosting was a nice whipped frosting and was so light! The first bite was almost the last bite because I almost swallowed the whole damn thing. That was only the first half of the cupcake. It literally tasted like Coconut Cream Pie. For a person who does not really favor coconut I would take this cupcake any day. It was really soft and moist. It was literally perfect and the coconut was not too much!

IMG_2042_edited

The second cupcake we are going to talk about is the Bourbon Sea Salt Cupcake. I am so sorry I am going to skip right to it. This was the most amazing cupcake I have ever had in my entire life. I don’t care….you can argue, you can fight me… YOU WILL LOSE. This cupcake will defeat anyone’s hate towards you. This cupcake is a blessing. So from appearance it looks like this simple caramel cupcake right? WRONG! This perfect balance of chocolate, sea salt, sweetness with a pluck of bourbon was made to melt anyone’s heart! The buttercream on that thing! Goodness! It melts right in your mouth and the caramel just flows right behind it like a little river of love. This was a cupcake made for the gods and I feel like we don’t deserve it. I cut it in half and there was no filling which honestly I was okay with only because I don’t feel like it even would have needed it and even if it did have it I wouldn’t have been hurt. It was moist AND it was light. Nothing was stopping this cupcake and again this was only half I had eaten.

Overall, I can honestly say from when I pulled up to when I was greeted and was picking out my cupcakes and even making it home to try them I was completely satisfied. If anyone says that they had a bad experience it was probably because they were doing something wrong because all I know is Korina Thompson and The Salted Cupcake is doing it all right people. Make sure you stop by their shop or check them out on Face Book for their Flavors, Pricing and more!

XOXO

JA


  • b-facebook
  • Pinterest Basic Black
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round
No tags yet.
bottom of page